Home

Hello!

By now you have all learned how terrible I am at updating my website. Mostly this is because I’ve been busy writing my next several (yes, several) books, and whenever I’m working on something that ISN’T one of those books, I feel guilty and like I’m procrastinating.

Clearly there are many flaws in that logic, however. There are plenty of things I can be writing and doing that will help me to grow as a writer and human being that might not directly add words to a current project. With that in mind, I recently joined the ranks of the fantastic folks at LitReactor in the hopes of spreading myself out and doing a bit of writing that isn’t as massive and time consuming. As a matter of fact, my first column, “Culling the Classics,” came out today!

Culling the Classics” is going to be a monthly feature (probably) that goes over a famous work of classic literature and breaks down the pros and cons of the book for those who’d rather not be weighed down by the responsibility of reading EVERY BOOK EVER OH MY GOD THERE ARE TOO MANY. It’ll deal with…actually, the first installment, which I wrote after reading The Catcher in the Rye, is going to give you a much better idea of what it’s about than anything I write about the column will, so check it out.

I also have been trying to come up with a way to make my site more interactive and interesting, with original content that can’t be found on 5×500 or LitReactor or one of my future or current books. To that end, I’ve decided to start a weekly feature called “500 Words On…” that will essentially be a short opinion piece on a topic that is culturally relevant that week. I’ll try not to be too egotistical and preachy, but no promises. The first “500 Words On…” will go up this Thursday, and I’ll aim to post a piece every Thursday that I’m able. (I haven’t missed a week on 5×500 in a looooong time, so I’m feeling pretty optimistic.) If you have a suggestion for something that I should write about, just leave a comment.

Anyway, that’s about it for now, but be sure to check out “Culling the Classics” and come back for “500 Words On…”, and thank you for sticking with me through the Quiet Times, for enjoying Broetry, and for hopefully keeping up with me, the site, and my work as I continue to grow as a writer. ::insert really cool writerly catchphrase here::

Leave a Reply

