Home

So apparently I suck at this. Out of 7 games this weekend, I got 0 scorelines and only 4 results correct (Colombia, Ivory Coast, France, Argentina). I came sooooo close with the games I got right—only one goal off in each—and I was 20 seconds away from correctly guessing the Switzerland-Ecuador game, but almost only counts in horseshoes and other games with relative scoring systems.

Brian’s Prediction Points Tally = 6

6 points out of 11 isn’t all that terrible if we only count win/lose/draw, but for our purposes, the question of whether I have any prognostication abilities is all but answered. Perhaps the new week will be a bit easier on me. Monday’s first game features Germany and Portugal, the squad with arguably the best group of players vs. the team with arguably the world’s best player. Unfortunately for Portugal, they’re going to need 11 men to beat ze Germans, not just one. My prediction:

Germany 3 : 1 Portugal

And that’s a conservative estimate, one that gives Ronaldo enough credit to think perhaps he’ll come up with a lovely bit of skill at some point while curbing my desire to splash 5 or 6 goals on the Germans. I will not be at all surprised if it’s another rout similar to the Spain-Netherlands game. Moving on, though, we’ve got Iran v. Nigeria. Iran are not known for their goal scoring, while Nigeria aren’t known for being very consistent. They’ve looked horrible over the last few months, and they didn’t make it past the group stage in either the 2002 or 2010 World Cups. (They didn’t even qualify in 2006.) I can see them pulling a win out over Iran, though, however ugly. My prediction:

Iran 0 : 1 Nigeria

The last match of the day is the big one: Ghana v. USA. The Black Stars have beaten our yanks 2-1 in each of the last two World Cups. In 2010, it was Ghana who knocked us out in the Round of 16, while in 2006 they beat us in the group stage. (Fun fact: I was actually at that game, and it was the most fun I’ve ever had not having fun in my entire life.) The U.S. need to win this game to have any hope of making it out of this group, and I think we can do it. I’m even predicting a revenge-tinged scoreline. My prediction:

Ghana 1 : 2 U.S.A.

At this point, my goal is to get at least 1 score correct out of these 64 games. The odds have to be with me, right? Probably not, but I’m going to try anyway.

I'm a season ticket holder, though, so hopefully they don't sue me.

Linked without permission from the MLS, USSF, or LA Galaxy.

Leave a Reply

