Home

Well, it finally happened: I didn’t earn a single point yesterday. Colombia won, England lost, and Japan drew. I am humbled, and will not pretend that my predictions today have any basis in logic, analysis, or really anything other than what I would like to see happen.

Brian’s Prediction Points Tally = still unlucky 13

Today’s early match is Italy v. Costa Rica. I have no idea what’s going to happen in this game. No one does. It’s a mystery. You know what I would find really cool, though? Costa Rica beating Italy. My “prediction”:

Italy 1 : 2 Costa Rica

Probably not going to happen, but to hell with it. Next up is Switzerland v. France. Switzerland screwed me out of that first correct prediction last week, and I like France, so I’m hoping to see Les Bleus light up the world banking elite. My “prediction”:

Switzerland 0 : 3 France

Finally, we’ve got Honduras v. Ecuador. Neither of these teams looked very convincing in their first matches, but I’m hoping for a goal-filled day. My “prediction”:

Honduras 0 : 2 Ecuador

Ugh. I’m quite dispirited. The shellacking I took yesterday dropped me down to 13 points from 23 games. That’s rough. I’ve got a lot of ground to make up if I’m hoping to hit 64. Although honestly, if I keep going the way I have been, I think I might be lucky to hit 32. If there were a “clap for Tinkerbell” equivalent for blogpost World Cup psychics, now would be the time to start chanting. “I do believe in comebacks! I do! I do!”

Not that I'd usually want to feel like either, tbh...

I’m feeling much more like Joe Hart than like Luis Suarez this morning.

Leave a Reply

