Home

It’s a holiday weekend, so I won’t take up too much of you time. First, I get 3 points for the Germany win.

Brian’s Prediction Points Tally = 42

Second, Brazil finally turned up, sad as it was to watch Colombia go.

HA MEZ!

Things got emotional.

Brazil will face off against Germany in a rematch of the 2002 World Cup final on Tuesday. Today we find out what the other semifinal matchup is going to look like. The first game is Argentina v. Belgium. As stumped as I was about Germany v. France, I’m about a million times less decided with this one. Neither team has let in many goals, but neither team has scored many, either. It’s going to be an ugly, slogging defensive game, and one moment of magic is likely going to decide everything. Basically, it comes down to whether I think Messi is more or less likely to break through than Hazard, De Bruyne, and Origi/Lukaku. I might as well flip a coin here, but I’m going to go with Messi. My prediction:

Argentina 1 : 0 Belgium

I would like to be wrong for two reasons: 1) Belgium are slightly more fun to watch; 2) I hope there are actually a million goals.

The second game is going to be an interesting one: Netherlands v. Costa Rica. Costa Rica have a fantastic defense, but they haven’t scored many goals. The Netherlands have scored a ton of goals, but their defense has been a bit porous. Which strength will win out? Which weakness?

Holland slash the Netherlands

Does this picture count as a strength or weakness for the Dutch?

I’m fairly certain the Dutch have this in the bag. My prediction:

Netherlands 2 : 0 Costa Rica

It was a good run, CONCACAF, but it has to end somewhere.

Leave a Reply

