Home

This is it! We’ve reached the final of the 2014 World Cup! What a great World Cup it’s been, definitely the most exciting that I’ve witnessed! It’s been a whirlwind month that has seen an incredible number of goals, as well as goals of incredible quality.

RIP Tim Cahill's World Cup career

This one’s my favorite.

I was disastrously wrong about the outcome of the third place match, so I’m still stuck on 57.5 points. A win today will earn me 5 points (not enough to reach 64), a pk win will earn me 2.5 (definitely not enough), and a correct score line victory will earn me 15 (my only hope).

Germany face Argentina in what should be an incredibly exciting game. Will Thomas Müller be the hero? Will Lionel Messi? Let’s get right down to it, shall we? My prediction:

Germany 3 : 0 Argentina

I’m not going to pretend that there’s any method behind my madness, because I clearly have no idea what I’m talking about for the most part. My prognosticatory abilities are fairly terrible, and the vast majority of my predictions have been crap. Maybe Messi will score; maybe he won’t. Maybe Thomas Müller will break Miroslav Klose’s record via a hat trick of hat trick’s and the Argentina squad will commit seppuku on the field. Maybe it will be an incredibly boring final like the one between Spain and the Netherlands four years ago. I have no idea. As always, I will be rooting for as many goals as possible as a neutral, so hopefully the game delivers. It would be nice to also earn the necessary points to put me over my 64-point goal, but as there’s no real reward or punishment, it doesn’t really matter.

Good luck to all involved, but especially my three Gunners playing for Germany: Lucas Podolski, Per Mertesacker, and Mesut Özil!

Leave a Reply

