Home

Poetry in Protest

This week’s poem is the first suggested by a reader. Wendell Berry is a farmer and poet whose interest in the environment seems particularly important at a time when the EPA is under threat. Of Berry, our reader writes, “He’s pretty touted in Christian circles, but I don’t think they really know how rebellious he is, especially about environmental issues. ‘The Contrariness of the Mad Farmer’ helped me out of that toxic Christian subculture.”

The Contrariness of the Mad Farmer
by Wendell Berry

I am done with apologies. If contrariness is my inheritance and destiny, so be it. If it is my mission to go in at exits and come out at entrances, so be it. I have planted by the stars in defiance of the experts, and tilled somewhat by incantation and by singing, and reaped, as I knew, by luck and Heaven's favor, in spite of the best…

View original post 275 more words

Leave a Reply

